Search Engine

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Most Interesting Facts about the FIFA World Cup Football

The FIFA World Cup (also called the Football World Cup, the Soccer World Cup, or simply the World Cup) is an international association football competition contested by the men’s national teams of the members of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body. The championship has been awarded every four years since the first tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not contested because of the Second World War.
General Information about the FIFA World Cup
This includes general information about World Cup History, Trophy, Format, Selection of hosts, Results, Awards, Records and statistics, etc.
National team appearances in the FIFA World Cup
This article lists the performances of each of the 76 national teams which have made at least one appearance in the FIFA World Cup finals.
FIFA World Cup hosts
This includes the List of hosts for each World Cup and the Voting Results of every time
FIFA World Cup Trophy
The World Cup is a gold trophy that is awarded to the winners of the FIFA World Cup. Since the advent of the World Cup in 1930, two trophies have represented victory: the Jules Rimet Trophy from 1930 to 1970, and the FIFA World Cup Trophy from 1974 to the present day.
Brazil won the Jules Rimet Trophy outright in 1970, prompting the commissioning of a replacement. The Jules Rimet Trophy was stolen in 1983 and never recovered.
History of the FIFA World Cup
The history of the FIFA World Cup was first written in 1928, when FIFA president Jules Rimet decided to stage an international football tournament. The inaugural edition, held in Uruguay in 1930, was contested as a final tournament of only 13 teams invited by the organization.
FIFA World Cup awards
At the end of each FIFA World Cup final tournament, several awards are attributed to the players and teams which have distinguished from the rest, in different aspects of the game.
The awards are:
the Golden Ball (currently commercially termed “adidas Golden Ball”) for best player;
the Golden Shoe (also known as the Golden Boot, since 1982 commercially termed “adidas Golden Shoe”) was first awarded in 1930 for top goal scorer;
the Yashin Award for best goalkeeper (first awarded in 1994);
the Best Young Player (currently commercially termed as “Gillette Best Young Player”) award for best player under 21 years of age at the start of the calendar year, first awarded in 2006.
the FIFA Fair Play Trophy for the team with the best record of fair play (first awarded in 1970);
the Most Entertaining Team award for the team that has entertained the public the most, during the World Cup final tournament, as determined by a poll of the general public, first awarded in 1994.
An All-Star Team (currently commercially termed “Mastercard All-Star Team“) comprising of the best players of the tournament, is also announced for each tournament since 1990.
FIFA World Cup records
This is a list of records of the FIFA World Cup and its qualification matches.
Detail information about all the past FIFA World Cup
Get all information like overview, photos, videos, matches, teams, statistics, awards, etc. of all the FIFA World Cup till date.

FIFA World Cup Statistics from FIFA.COM

Player statistics, Captain statistics, Goalkeeper statistics, Team statistics, Coach statistics, Referee statistics.
FIFA World Cup Trophy, Awards, Official Mascot, FIFA Partners, Prize Money, Venues since 1930.
The 11 most significant milestones and records at the 2010 FIFA World Cup (maybe!)
80 things you need to know about the FIFA World Cup
FIFA World Cup comparative statistics, FIFA World Cup competition records, FIFA World Cup ranking by tournaments.
FIFA World Cup final matches statistics
Get all FIFA Facts documents for all FIFA Tournaments